Cheese and Bacon

For Christmas I was given a copy of Andrew Whitley’s Bread Matters book by my Long Suffering Husband. Whilst I’ve read through a lot of it, its taken me a while to get round to baking anything.

 The first bread that I tried was his Cheese Bread but being impatient I couldn’t wait by making the sponge so I used my rye starter instead. Whilst the flavour was good the texture wasn’t quite what I was looking for. So I reduced the amount of starter and increased the white flour, adding a small amount of yeast to compensate. I also had some bacon to use up so I kneaded that in with the cheese. And wow! Just what I was looking for- all the taste but with a lighter texture. Even LSH was impressed!

You can find the recipe here

Bacon and Cheese Bread

Bacon and Cheese Bread

Leave a Reply

