Kamut Bread

Kamut Bread

My First Kamut Bread

I have had some kamut (also known as khorason) flour in the cupboard for a while. Its a grain that was supposedly originally grown in ancient Egypt and has a lovely yellow tone to it so on novelty ground alone I was keen to give it a go.

Another of my Christmas presents was Richard Bertinet’s “Crust” book which focuses more on sourdough and preferments. I made a smaller amount as didn’t fancy being left with 5 loaves if I didn’t like it- so my scaled down version made 2.

The final loaf was a lovely golden colour with a firm crumb, ideal for sandwiches (so ideal that LSH used it for his pack up during the week).

It needed cooking for longer as it felt far to soft when it came out of the oven. So I cooked it until the internal temp of the loaves was 200F.

Leave a Reply

