Good Weather for Rhubarb

Rhubarb and Date loafI’ve been on a bit of a baking binge. A couple of weeks of eating rather than baking has left me craving the feel of flour between my fingers. So the kitchen has been covered in a faint dusting of flour for most of the weekend. Yet despite this I have a distinct case of “flatness” which even baking isn’t managing to shift. A definite case of post holiday blues has set in to go with the bands of rain that have swept across the garden this weekend.

Rhubarb plant

The upside of this wet weather is that the rhubarb in the garden has done well this year. Usually by now its starting to bolt but the inclement weather has been good for something at least with lots of lush green stalks and no sign of flower heads. In previous years I’ve made crumble and compote out of it but this year I’ve tried something different. I recently came across the British Food Trust website which has lots of interesting British recipes on it including this one for rhubarb and date loaf.

rhubarb

The rhubarb stalks are stewed to start with until they form a purée ( I added a couple of tablespoons of water as it cooked to make sure that it didn’t catch on the bottom of the pan). I blitzed the flour, baking powder and butter together in a food processor until they resembled breadcrumbs and then mixed them with the rest of the ingredients before putting into a loaf tin.

rhubarb loaf

This is definitely more of a bread than a cake – the only sugar in here is through the dates so it isn’t as sweet as banana bread for example. I think it needs to be a bit more moist (I’d add a bit more rhubarb next time) and it could do with some spice (I feel that ginger is needed). But it has the makings of a good tea loaf, particularly when served with a decent dollop of butter and sometimes that’s just what you need.

6 thoughts on “Good Weather for Rhubarb

    • It’s not something I would have thought of but it seems to work quite well. It’s always nice to find a recipe that uses things you have lurking in store cupboards or in the garden.

  1. Great minds! I know everyone raves about forced rhubarb but I do love rhubarb at this time of year, even though it’s not as beautiful. I’m not sure I’ll be able to grow it on my windowsill though so I’ll have to wait for my very own garden *sigh*.

    • Indeed! I just spotted your post this morning. I live on the edge of the “rhubarb triangle” so we get quite a lot of the forced stuff but I’ve never tried it myself. Instead my “thuggish” plant is taking over a corner of the garden (I had to remove it from the veg bed as it smothered anything near it!) It’s definitely not “window box friendly” I’m afraid…

Leave a Reply

