Stromboli – Another Love Baking Bread recipe road test

Stromboli and magazineMy recent baking has had varying degrees of success. The Moroccan flatbreads I made to go with the lamb meatball tagine we had on Saturday night ended up being more like a crispbread.  And the croissant I’m currently munching on whilst writing this tastes lovely but the shaping needs some work and the oven temperature was clearly wrong as I only just rescued them before they tipped over from dark brown to burnt (and that was after only about 5 min of the 18-20 min cooking time). But there have been a couple of successes.

HerdyI’ve already blogged about the rhubarb loaf but the best bake of the weekend (at least as far as LSH was concerned) was the Stromboli. This is another recipe from the Love Baking Bread magazine and another Gino D’Acampo one. I’ve made a few variations of this type of stuffed bread already without realising that I’d actually been making Stromboli. This version is stuffed with a mixture of mozzarella, Parmesan, garlic and lots of basil and I added some Italian meats as well.
Stromboli internal

If you’re going to make this, make sure you line the baking tray with greaseproof paper and don’t just rely on oiling it. I know from bitter experience that melted cheese is better than superglue when it comes to bread and baking trays and there was a lot of cheese in this bread as you can see from the amount that seeped out.

Stromboli baked

As before the colour here is completely different from the photograph which is of a very pale loaf, but it worked well and I suspect that I may find myself succumbing to getting Gino’s Italian Baking book before too long. Certainly this bread didn’t hang around very long…

3 thoughts on “Stromboli – Another Love Baking Bread recipe road test

  1. Pingback: Lunchtime Review : Stromboli | Geek Ergo Sum

  2. Ooo, you have so many lovely breads on here Debbie!! I’m so intrigued by the way you mix in meats and cheeses, it looks mouthwatering delicious! I’ll be sure to try this one especially! (and I can’t wait to try the meat loaf, that one looks awesome)

    • Thanks! I’m a big fan of stuffed breads, particularly with meat or cheese. They are one of those breads that look much more impressive than they are difficult to make. Your blog has some wonderful bread ideas on it as well – I’ve already bookmarked it!

Leave a Reply

