Not Sourdough Bread

Sourdough crackers - final

My sourdough bread is still a bit hit and miss. A recent experiment with apple and walnut bread ended up as an over chewy frisbee. LSH gamely ate his way through a couple of slices (that’s husbandy loyalty for you!) but the rest ended up in the bin. So I thought I’d try something different – sourdough crackers.

There are various versions of this on line. Mine is a rosemary and garlic version based on this one on the Fresh Loaf website as it was the only one I found in weighed measures.

I mixed 100g of my rye starter with 50g of white bread flour. I added 20g of olive oil along with 1/8tsp of garlic salt and 1 tsp of finely chopped rosemary. It came together into a sticky but still workable dough which I kneaded for about 10 mins before leaving to rest for about 5 hours.

I cut some greaseproof paper to the size of the baking tray and then rolled the dough out very thinly directly onto the greaseproof so that it was only a couple of millimetres thick.

Sourdough crackers - pre bake

I cut these into small diamonds and scattered some sea salt over the top. They were then baked for 15min at 180C.

LSH definitely preferred these to sourdough bread and scoffed a bowl full of them in no time. He thought that they were cheese as the taste was very tangy and said he would eat those again. They were a little too tangy for my taste so next time I will reduce the amount of sourdough starter and increase the amount of rosemary. A promising start though and a whole new lease of life for my starter.

Sourdough crackers - final 2

2 thoughts on “Not Sourdough Bread

  1. I am so glad there’s someone out there who also relies on weighed measure like me. I thought I was the only one in the whole planet. Because LSH scoffed a bowl full of them, I have no reason to doubt the taste. I would have gladly joined him. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks. I’ve just found a lovely looking Austrailian bread recipe which has some ingredients in grams and some in cups which looks slightly odd – not sure why you’d have a mixture of different types of measures. I tend to even weigh liquid now rather than relying on the measuring jug.

Leave a Reply

