Spicy Lamb Empanadas

Spiced Lamb Empanadas

I’ve complained on my blog before about how difficult it can be to find many speciality ingredients where I live with many herbs and spices requiring a special outing. I love trying out food from across the globe and it’s so frustrating to find that the key ingredients I need are nowhere to be found.

But now I may have the answer in the form of Kitchen Nomad and their monthly box scheme. The idea is that you subscribe and each month they send you a food parcel with various ingredients from difference areas of the world along with recipe cards. I think it’s a brilliant idea – not only do I get forced out of my culinary comfort zone and get to try things I’d never have thought of cooking, I also get those hard to find ingredients. So it was with a great deal of excitment that I opened my first box and found it was the Lebanon!

kitchen nomad - box

The box is filled with various spice mixes including a version of Lebanese Allspice that I had never even heard of before let alone used, pomegranate molasses, za’tar, tahini and a few other things. With it were a number of different recipe cards and the first one I’ve made is the spiced lamb flatbread. Whilst the bread itself wasn’t anything special the lamb topping was something else! Spicy with a subtle sweet undertone from the molasses and a definite kick from the chilli flakes. I’d made the full amount of lamb and so I left half of it in the fridge to turn into little empanadas the next day.

I used the Dan Lepard recipe I’ve used previously but this time I left out the cumin and replaced it with a teaspoon of the Lebanese Allspice. The flour smelled amazing – really fragrant. I could have just sat and inhaled it happily!

Spiced Lamb Empanadas - lamb

I then fried the lamb mix until cooked and left it to cool. The pastry was then rolled out and cut into 10cm circles. I rested them for about 5 minutes and then gave them another quick roll to thin them out a bit more before putting 2 teaspoons of the lamb mix onto them and sealing with water.

Spiced lamb empanadas - pre bake

You can freeze them at this stage (you just defrost before baking). I baked them for 20 min at 180C and they were delicious! Crispy fragrant pastry stuffed with tangy, spicy lamb. And just as nice eaten cold the next day. Next time I’ll turn the full lamb mix into these as they were a definite triumph! I look forward to seeing what the September box brings.

15 thoughts on “Spicy Lamb Empanadas

  1. These empanadas looks so tasty, i have to make them for myself. If it were possible to pick that split one I would just eat it straight away. It looks so appetizing. Thanks for sharing. I have bookmarked. Enjoy the remainder of the week!

    • Hi Liz. Thanks for dropping by. I had planned on freezing some of these for the weekend but LSH demanded that they come back out of the freezer and ate them for his tea. I may have to hide them in future!

    • I took some into work the next day and they stood up quite well. The pastry is in Dan Lepard’s Short and Sweet – I’m not sure if he’s posted it in his Guardian columns. It is really easy – just plain flour, baking powder and spices in a bowl. Rub in sunflower oil (at which point it will turn that vivid yellow you see) and then mix in water and knead. Rest and roll out. It’s certainly the easiest pastry recipe I’ve done and you can chop and change the spices depending on the filling.

  2. This Kitchen Nomad box sounds like a good idea and the empanadas with their orange hue totally delicious. It’s dinnertime and it’s not a good idea to look at these… I know they’re baked not fried, but with their orange hue, thin skin and generous moon-shaped form, they remind me of curry puffs from my home. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

