Redcurrant and Orange Meringue Cake

Cake- day

I don’t usually do cake, as even the most cursory glance at this blog will show. But this weekend we had the inlaws for dinner and I was in charge of pudding. So I have faced my cake demons and have actually baked one (I’m blaming my recent Bake Off binges for thinking that this might be a good idea….).

I wanted to use the redcurrant curd that I’d made earlier but I wanted to make something a bit snazzier than a victoria sandwich. I eventually stumbled upon this – Nigella Lawson’s lemon meringue cake. You can find the recipe here

It’s a twist on a lemon meringue pie but with sponge instead of pastry. Nigella’s version has lemon juice and zest mixed into the sponge mix, but as I was using redcurrant curd I decided to go for orange instead and so added the zest of one orange along with 5 tsp of orange juice (the mix looked a bit dry). Once you’ve added the thin layer of sponge to each sandwich tin you then pop the meringue on top.
cake - Straight from the oven

In one tin it’s smoothed flat to form the base of the cake, and in the other it’s pulled up into peaks and scattered with sugar to create a more impressive top. It’s baked once a skewer comes out clean which doesn’t take long (I’ve hidden the slightly burnt edge of the base off the top of the photo…). Removing the bottom tin wasn’t too much of a problem but I was a bit worried about squashing the carefully constructed peaks of the top – I think a loose bottomed tin would be distinctly less stressful than trying to delicately handle fragile peaks of meringue!

Cake

The whole thing was then sandwiched together sponge sides in with whipped double cream and redcurrant curd. Obviously I added more curd than the recipe said only to see it start to slide Vesuvius like over the side of the cake – not quite the look I was going for! So in order to try and deflect attention from the curd avalanche I sprinkled some pink sugar on top.

I was a bit worried about this as it wasn’t the neatest of cakes but taste wise it was a massive hit with everyone raving about it. The in laws even took doggy bags of slices home with them. And it was even better the next day when the filling had had more time to set. Cake for breakfast – what could be better!
Slice of cake

 

4 thoughts on “Redcurrant and Orange Meringue Cake

  1. Oh yes. For a minute, I did think I was lost, but then I saw the familiar header. Inlaws are special, they make us face our fears. At the end of the day taste is what matters and from your description, the cake was good, so for me, your evening and the cake was a success. Thanks for sharing. Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

