From the jaws of defeat comes ice cream….

Bramble curd ice cream

I know – why am I blogging about ice cream when I’ve just dug my woolly tights out for the first time this autumn? But there is a very good reason. Honest….

We are at the height of bramble season and this year has been one of the best for a while. LSH is continuing with his brambling expeditions and is bringing home tubs of them.(I think it’s his inner hunter/ gatherer coming out). Some are stashed in the freezer waiting for my apples to ripen. Others are fermenting in a large jar of gin. Some were turned into a soft squidgy bramble cake. But this batch I decided to turn into curd.
Bramble curd
I was happily stirring my bramble and egg mix when I suddenly realised I’d failed to add the sugar or butter! I frantically mixed, seived and heated but in my panic I’d added too much sugar and whilst the result was a beautiful dark purple colour with a good consistency it was far too sweet and any hint of bramble was just overpowered by it.

Then I had a flash of inspiration ice cream! That needs to be sweeter in order to offset the cold – I just wouldn’t need to add any extra sugar to the mix. I needed to add yoghurt (to offset the sweetness) and cream and it might just be saved.

So that’s what I did . To my 230g of bramble curd I added 200g of Greek yoghurt and 130g of double cream.

I beat them together in a bowl until well mixed. Then I poured it into an ice cream maker and churned until frozen.

Curd and ice cream

What I ended up with was a beautiful pastel lilac colour ice cream. The cream and yoghurt cut through the sweetness wonderfully leaving a light blackberry flavour. Not quite seasonal but I can always serve it with a slice of hot apple pie.

13 thoughts on “From the jaws of defeat comes ice cream….

Leave a Reply

