Only 77 baking days til Xmas…..

Gingerbread man 2I have somewhat rashly promised LSH a gingerbread church with stained glass windows for Christmas.

There are however a few problems with this:

1. I’ve never made a gingerbread church in fact
2. I’ve never even attempted a gingerbread house or indeed
3. Even baked a gingerbread man and
4. I’ve never iced anything or attempted much in the way of decoration.

So just a bit of pressure then! Thankfully the Great British Bake Off book Showstoppers has a series of gingerbread recipes building up to a decorated house. My aim is to follow these and then take it up a notch.

So here is the first go – a mini batch of (nude/ undecorated) gingerbread men. Not the most exciting looking of bakes but tasty. Next step is learning how to use an icing bag and giving them a bit of dignity….

Gingerbread man 1

10 thoughts on “Only 77 baking days til Xmas…..

    • I think it may be a health and safety risk to put people in it! I’m thinking a little gap in the wall that I can then slide a LED tea light in to illuminate the windows though I fear an archway may have adverse implications on structural integrity(!). Where is the gingerbread equivalent of Kevin McCloud when you need him?

  1. Pingback: The Gingerbread Challenge – and finally a church | themondaybaker

Leave a Reply

