The Gingerbread Challenge continued- My First House.

Gingerbread house - final

A quick update on “Operation Gingerbread Church”. My aim this week was to build something with windows and roof tiles. So I brought out the graph paper and designed a simple house with boiled sweet coloured panes and chocolate button roof tiles.

Gingerbread house - windowThe worst bit was trying to track down boiled sweets which appear to have all but disappeared from my local supermarkets but thankfully I found a pack which are now hidden behind my baking supplies to prevent LSH scoffing the rest. The final aim is to use a mix of colours to create a stained glass effect which I can then light (somehow….) from inside.

I managed to get some small cutters from a local cake decorating shop which I used to cut out three windows. These were filled with ground boiled sweets and baked. And thankfully they worked – I was a little worried they wouldn’t come away from the parchment but they came away cleanly.

Gingerbread house - roof

The roof tiles are chocolate buttons which have been cut in half and held in place with royal icing. The remains were melted and used to create the ridge. I attempted to dye the icing brown but there was some white icing at the bottom of the bag. Looking at it I think that the bits that were white worked better giving a snow effect. Next time I may try a chocolate flavour biscuit base with white icing and quartered giant buttons to give overlapping fan tiles. That’s the plan anyway…

4 thoughts on “The Gingerbread Challenge continued- My First House.

  1. This looks great! For me, part of the fascination of a gingerbread house is seeing what is used for each of the house’s features, your roof tiles being a case in point. Well done and I can’t wait to see the next step.

  2. Pingback: The Gingerbread Challenge – and finally a church | themondaybaker

Leave a Reply

